Darts and Arrowheads – A Writing Sample

“Wow. Look at those stars. It’s as if a million phoenixes got caught up there glued on a black sheet of paper and couldn’t come down.”

“Don’t you mention phoenixes. You know what happened last time.

“It’s just a figure of speech. I don’t know, it’s just so beautiful. The night sky, the warm forest air …”

“You know it’s against the law to be out in the woods this late?”

“If you were going to be such a worrywart, why’d ya come with?”

“To save your butt from any natives.”

“I can take care of myself.”

“I guess you’re right though. It is a pretty night.”

“Yeah. Hey look, I think there’s a monkey in that tree!”

“There aren’t money’s in Mavor.”

“Well then what’s that climbing in that tree? Wait, there’s another!”

“Oh dear. I think it’s time to run!”

“Hey! That monkey just shot a quill at me. It must be part-porcupine!”

“It’s a dart! Come with me!”

“There are some in the tree above us! They’re knocking down these sticks!”

“Ah! Arrows! Run! It’s the natives!”

“Hey look, a phoenix.”

Comments? It doesn't take too long…

