wu: the first chapter

Greetings, ladies and gents,

I must say that I am mildly frustrated. I am wanting to write the first chapter of my steampunk book, but I can’t seem to be able to. It seems boring, and I can’t start it right. I’ve just written my fourth intro, but discarded it. It just doesn’t seem right. I need to introduce stuff. Lots of stuff. I have ways to do it mildly and in a way that doesn’t overwhelm the reader, but I still can’t do it right!!!!

I know I’m talking in circles, but it is so darn annoying that I can’t write this well. It is not fitting that I start with a battle scene. It doesn’t make sense in the plotline. Though three of my favorite books start with a fight. Then again…I don’t know! It is just so frustrating. I just learned that the first chapter is the most important chapter in a book. It draws the readers in.

It’s a birthday scene. A huge party. But I also need to introduce this guy’s cool motorcycle he’s building. I guess I should read the first chapters of Fellowship of the Ring. That starts with Bilbo’s 111th birthday, right?

I know whatever I do, it will only be the rough draft. I guess what it comes down to is that I need to just push through it, a know that anything bad will be fixed later. Then again, everything I’ve been writing in it is bad. Oh, snap!

Well, I hope I’ll be able to come up with it soon. I guess I wasn’t able to get a plot, then got one. Now I just need some opening lines, a good scene.

See ya next time,

-Harry

Comments? It doesn't take too long…

